Tags

, , ,

Frank, whose fab blog is “Dutch Goes the Photo”, has set “Shadow” as the topic for this week’s Photo Challenge. Have a squiz at

https://dutchgoesthephoto.net/2016/09/27/tuesday-photo-challenge-shadow/

and join in the fun.

 

I’m just on the verge of saying farewell to the family house. If I could have lifted the garden wholesale and planted it in our own back garden I would have gladly done so, but sadly that’s not very practical and instead I’ve just taken a few plants as a happy reminder. Something I have done, however, over the last year is to take lots of photographs. Unfortunately, 2016 has been the year of the incessant breeze / wind, and even with a tripod it would have been difficult to get a crisp picture of the flowers!!

At some stage I shall probably include more of my photos, but I have just included three which include shadows.

The first is Herb Robert, a cheeky little plant which has taken up residence on the back doorstep. The second is a shadow selfie of me taking the Forsythia. Lastly, the tap which has served the garden well over the past 56 years.

The garden always calls to mind the poem

“The kiss of the sun for pardon,

The song of the birds for mirth

You are nearer God’s heart in the garden

Than anywhere else on earth”

 

Whatever one’s beliefs, it’s difficult not to feel at peace in a beautiful garden. It has definitely been a haven for me over the last year.

Each of my photos was taken in the late afternoon sun, a glorious time of day, and a reminder of the yin-yang nature of life, that light and dark sit side by side.

