Tags

, , , , ,

Frank, whose fab blog is “Dutch Goes the Photo”, has set “NOSTALGIA” as the topic for this week’s Photo Challenge. 

See https://dutchgoesthephoto.net/2017/02/21/tuesday-photo-challenge-nostalgia/

This week I’ve been pruning down some of my photos online and happened to come across some from 2011 when I visited Basildon Park, Hampshire, a stately home, now owned by the National Trust.  The highlight for me was visiting Its 1950s kitchen, full of typical paraphernalia from that era. There were even two volunteers busy making Swiss Rolls and handing out samples, no doubt to give a flavour of home-baked “goodness” just how it used to be!!

I’ve only got a couple of photos from my visit. The cartoon storks and vivid colours caught my eye on these two old Stork Margarine booklets.

basildon-park-20-may-2011-13basildon-park-20-may-2011-12

It seems strange that back then (and in the 1960s when I was born), margarine was deemed to be a healthy option!! I clearly remember the gold foil-wrapped blocks of Stork in the fridge. Mum was a good cook and home baker and there were always two or three baked goodies on offer (probably explains a lot!!)    

Nowadays, with my nutritionist’s hat on, I strongly recommend everyone to stay well clear of margarine if they want any semblance of health!!

I’ve also included a photo of Mum’s old recipe books, which I’ve kept not for reference, but for historical interest as well as a big fat dollop of nostalgia.

1960s-cookery-books-from-manchester

