Tags

, , , , , , ,

The wisteria was well in bloom this week at Polesden Lacey. I initially thought it was lilac (silly me and thank you Tania for the correction), which had reminded me of the first line of Rupert Brooke’s poem “The Old Vicarage, Grantchester”.

Even though my picture isn’t of lilac, I’ve included the poem anyway as it’s one of my all time favourites. It is so evocative of the English countryside as it starts to bloom in all its magnificence. For “lilac”, read “wisteria” –   ha ha    🙂 🙂

I’ve included the first part of the poem only, where he is remembering the wonders of nature about his home in Grantchester, far away from Berlin, where he was at the time in 1912.

Blog 2017-04-xx - Grantchester Poem - Lilac, Polesden Lacey, April-2017 (1)Blog 2017-04-xx - Grantchester Poem - Lilac, Polesden Lacey, April-2017 (2)

Just now the lilac is in bloom,

All before my little room;

And in my flower-beds, I think,

Smile the carnation and the pink;

And down the borders, well I know,

The poppy and the pansy blow. . .

Oh! there the chestnuts, summer through,

Beside the river make for you

A tunnel of green gloom, and sleep

Deeply above; and green and deep

The stream mysterious glides beneath,

Green as a dream and deep as death. —

Oh, damn! I know it! and I know

How the May fields all golden show,

And when the day is young and sweet,

Gild gloriously the bare feet

That run to bathe. . .Du lieber Gott!  

 

